Posted by: gravessack | September 9, 2017

MLB Games Must Speed Up

It has been well-documented that MLB has a problem with how long games last. Because I too believe MLB needs to speed up games, I’m going to keep this post pretty short.

According to startribune.com, as of September 5, the average MLB game in 2017 was 3 hours, 5 minutes, 5 more minutes than the average in 2016. An average Twins game in 2017 as of September 5 was 3 hours, 9 minutes. Click here for an article on MLB’s length-of-game problem.

This is WAY too long for a game! On weeknights, many people have to leave early because they either have to go to work or school the next day. Fans can get bored by the slow pace of the game. Players also can get bored if they have to stand around in the field for a long time and may not be as focused.

MLB has talked about adopting a pitch clock in 2018 (this may be for sure) and I am very much in favor of this. There is no reason for there to be 20-30 seconds between pitches! MLB is also considering limiting visits to the pitcher’s mound, another rule I would be supportive of.

I am a huge baseball fan, and I don’t think the game would be any less enjoyable with these changes (It actually should be even more enjoyable). Hopefully, these changes will happen and improve fans’ experiences!

Written by: Sam Graves

Responses

  1. I agree with all of your comments Sam. Some of the games are too long and pitchers could speed it up! Good job Sam!

  2. Mr. Grave, This is Mamadee, hope you Guys are doing fine. I have always thought about the reasons for which a single baseball game last that long. I am a lover a Soccer but pay serious attention to the game of baseball. My question is the reasons for which games is baseball are longer than a basketball game.
    As you think about the response to this question, Let me find out how you, Peter and Sam are doing today? I am doing just find along with the family.
    Keep doing what you love

    • Hi Mamadee!

      Good to hear from you! I am doing well! I am working at Accessible360, a company that works with clients to make sure their websites/mobile apps accessible. I really like it. I see both Peter and Michael regularly and they are doing well. I’m glad you and your family are well!

      The biggest reason for a baseball game is that it currently has no clock, unlike many other sports. A lot of people have liked this because it makes the game more relaxed, but more and more people are starting to realize it needs to be sped up.

      Sam


Leave a Reply

Categories

