Posted by: gravessack | October 4, 2014

What’s Next for the Twins?

Although the Twins recently fired manager Ron Gardenhire (which I disagree with) and likely most or all of his coaching staff, the team needs to do more to be successful in the near future. Here are a few ideas:

  1. Get rid of Joe Mauer’s contract: I like Mauer and he is a good hitter, but the Twins need to get rid of his monstrous eight-year, $184 million contract. As unpopular as it may be, getting rid of him and his contract, which expires after the 2018 season, would save the team a ton of money. This would give the Twins even more freedom to sign high-quality pitchers, which they desperately need with or without Mauer. I would be extremely surprised if the Twins got rid of him, but it’s something the team needs to do moving forward.
  2. Don’t rush young prospects: Despite the success of Danny Santana and Kennys Vargas (who both came up from Double-A), the Twins need to be patient with their young prospects, especially with Byron Buxton and Miguel Sano who are coming off serious injuries last season. I would love if these players came up sometime next season, but they need to show they can play well in each level of the minors first.
  3. Get a Spanish-speaking manager or coach: The Twins need a coach to interact with the Latino players on the team (Santana, Vargas and Oswaldo Arcia, for example). Having a Latino coach is more and more important as more of these players come to the majors. With the Twins likely having a remodeled coaching staff next season, I would say that this is very likely to happen.

Those are my ideas for the Twins. What are yours?

Written by: Sam Graves

Responses

  1. Sam I completely agree with you about everything on your last post. I have heard rumors that Ozzie Guillen former manager if the White Sox was very interested in coaching again and that would be great for the Spanish and Latino players.

  2. Hi sam, great post about whats next for the twins, this is so true my boyfriend and I read this and totally agreed. I like Mauer too but, his contract is ridiculous, do the twins not think they will not find future talent? Do they think Mauer will last until 2018? I think its crazy but I do not very much about baseball.

  3. Mauer has absolutely underperformed but I doubt the Twins will ever get rid of him, he’s just too popular being a hometown hero. I also think the Twins should go after Ozzie Guillen, I think they need a more aggressive manager and Ozzie would bring that, his Spanish skills are also a huge plus. In the end I think they will go with Paul Molitor.


Leave a Reply

Categories

