Posted by: gravessack | March 18, 2012

An Extraordinary Experience

This past week, I was in Fort Myers, Florida, and I went to two Twins spring training games. Even though the Twins lost both games, I had an awesome (and hot!) time there. Here are my thoughts on how the team looks and which players stood out for me.

  • Pitcher Terry Doyle, acquired over the winter from the White Sox, looks AWFUL!! He pitched OK his first few spring training starts, but on March 15, he allowed 8 runs and only got 2 outs! So far this spring, Doyle is 0-1 with a 16.88 ERA. If he makes the Twins Opening Day roster, the team could be in serious trouble!
  • Pitcher Nick Blackburn looks very good this spring. Blackburn, who threw 4 scoreless innings on March 16, has pitched 7 innings this spring and hasn’t allowed a run.
  • Center fielder Denard Span and catcher Joe Mauer, who both missed significant time last season because of injuries, appear (so far) to be fully healthy. Span got 1 hit each day I saw him, and Mauer got 1 hit and 2 RBI the only day I saw him. Span is hitting .417 this spring and Mauer .304.
  • Infielder Brian Dozier (I got his autograph!), the Twins Minor League Player of the Year last season, looks like he could be a good player in the near future. He got 1 hit over the 2 games I saw him in and is hitting .278 in 11 games this spring.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see first baseman Justin Morneau or outfielder Josh Willingham play. I wanted to see Morneau and how he is after his season-ending concussion last year, and I wanted to see Willingham just because he was a key addition to the team this offseason. Still, I had an extraordinary spring training experience!

Written by: Sam Graves

Responses

  1. Thanks, Sam

  2. Glad to hear about your spring training trip. It is early so perhaps some players will still come on strong. Wish you could have checked out Morneau.
    Here’s to a winning season for the Twins. You need it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

