Posted by: gravessack | November 14, 2010

iPad Making a Difference For People With Disabilities

Before I start, I want to tell you that since it is the MLB off-season (boo!), we are probably not going to blog much about baseball. Instead, we will focus on other accessibility news. We will return to blogging about baseball near the start of next season.

Since it went on sale earlier this year, the iPad has become very popular. Apple said it sold 500,000 iPads during the first week it was on sale!

The iPad is very cool, especially since it is disability friendly and is a useful therapeutic tool. For example, 7-year old Owen Cain depends on a respirator and has a difficult time making any movements. He can’t operate a computer mouse and has used several computerized contraptions to try to help him, but none had worked before he got an iPad. Because it has a touch screen, he can barely touch an application and it will open up. For more on Owen’s story, click here.

But, like all things, the iPad is not perfect. One person who has cerebral palsy says, “When ‘flipping’ screens, sometimes I flip more than one screen.” A person may open an application that they didn’t mean to. The iPad is expensive, but it is cheaper than a regular computer.

Still, I would recommend people, especially people with disabilities, to consider getting an iPad. For many people with disabilities, the iPad would make life much easier.

For more on the iPad, click here.

Written by: Sam Graves

Responses

  1. Good piece! I use the iPad and I love it.

  2. How does it stack up as a price value with anything else. Not every one is a rich and famous blogger. What other lower cost or last generation techno gadgets have you had luck with? I got my hearing aids funded; are there funds for this stuff? should I shut up now?

  3. PS
    It is always baseball season. They just don’t play games for a while. Twins in 6 over St. Louis in 2011

  4. Great piece! My daughter has severe cerebral palsy and the iPad has been a Godsend for her. Because of her CP she does turn pages by accident, or taps the wrong button, but the the pluses definitely out way the negatives. I can’t recommend it enough for people and children with disabilities. If you want to learn more about the iPad and the special needs community please check out my blog at http://www.lilliespad.com.

  5. Wow this is such a nice blog Sam! This definitely counts for service hours.

  6. Thanks for the article. My sister has MS and we are looking for the best computer for her. This helps.

  7. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I believed this publish was great. I don’t know who you’re but definitely you’re likely to a famous blogger if you aren’t already Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

